Day 9 – June 13

I guess you can say this is technically my last day as my flight isn’t until 4pm. I woke up early again, not to fireworks and revelry in the streets, but to merchants honking their car horns and church bells. When I heard the bells I knew this was my last chance to check going to church off my list.

The sermon was of course in Portuguese but I didn’t mind because the Priest had a pleasant voice. I took out my sketchbook and pencils and started sketching right away. It was hard to choose a composition as there were so many options. In the end I went with what you see here. Needless to say, it was a great opportunity to practice perspective. I learned soooooooo much this trip. I must have caught the tail end of the service because after a song and a prayer, everyone shook hands next to them (I was in a pew all to myself) and started to leave. I stayed for as long as I could. The priest walked around strumming his ukulele as he turned off the lights. When he approached the back, my time had run out. I’m told he’s Brazilian. For a man of the cloth he’s quite hot. I’m sure I was blushing when I said hello and showed him my unfinished sketch. Having the most basic English, he congratulated me on my drawing then we kissed European style – a peck on each cheek. I was absolutely blushing after that. I wished I had gone to service everyday.

The house was still very quit when I poked my head in to see what everyone was doing. The girls were still in bed. I made my way back down to the docks to sketch the light. I was fascinated by the way the break wall folded into a spiral, the golden mean. It was the most difficult sketch this trip. I loved siting on top of the wall watching the men below me go about their daily rituals. I didn’t have to leave for the airport until 2pm so I let time stand still.

It’s hard to describe how I felt when I left. I was thankful for the silence. Sad to leave this beautiful landscape. Frustrated because there was still so much to explore. I left with an invitation to return in my back pocket. Who knows? I may return, would like to, but would love to have Mom with me next time. For now, I’m excited to get back to my apartment and I can’t wait to go home to my own island.

Leave a Reply

