June 18th, 2015

Northland Discovery Boat Tours was the bomb! We knew when we saw small icebergs in St. Anthony, we where in for a treat. We weren’t too sure, however about the whales. But hey, seeing whales or not seeing whales were on secondary to the white majesties of ice. Once out of harbour, we could see at least 3 icebergs on the horizon. The closest one sat a half hour away. We were unprepared for how large it actually was. 225 feet tall. above the water- approx 400 feet beneath, 500 and change feet long. Our guide said it was the largest iceberg they’ve seen since they’ve started the tours this season. It had recently followed, meaning, bits of ice has fallen off the berg as ice would cleaved off a glacier to create the iceberg. Some were growlers and some were bergy bits. For more accurate info on the approximate measurements of these terms, the website, Anthropolis has good references. http://www.athropolis.ca/arctic-facts/fact-bergy-bits.htm.

I don’t get sea sick, but when the theme song for Titanic came on without Celine Dion (Thank God!) I felt like hurling. Thank goodness it wasn’t long lived. The guide explained the Iceberg that downed the Unsinkable was one third of the size of the one we saw today and only 400 km off the coast of Newfoundland.

It was more than amazing to be on the Atlantic today, Mother Nature graced us with such a beautiful, sunny day! Blue skies, interesting clouds, THE BEST LIGHTING CONDITIONS to photograph an iceberg. So said our guide, who took a picture saying, “You know it’s a fantastic iceberg when the guide photographs it.” Almost everyone in my group had lenses that could capture the entire thing. I however had my new 50 (not regrettably mind you). Remembering Rob’s Lightroom workshop only a few day before I left, I took full advantage of the new panorama builder. First chance I got I stitched together some images and wow, a beautiful Pano. Two great tips I forgot in my excitement however was: 1) Take the images vertically to get more of what’s above and below. 2) To hold your hand over the lens at the beginning of the pano, then once again at the end. This will keep record of what belongs in the series when reviewing your photos. That way, you don’t accidently delete necessary pieces of the puzzle.

For lunch we went to the Lighthouse restaurant on top of the hill on the outskirts of St. Anthony. Climbing up this hill is an innumerable amount of steps to the top and more than likely a breathtaking view. Because there was so much more planned for the rest of the day, we didn’t have time to do it. But should I go back, it would definitely be on my bucket list. There was however, time for everyone to get in a half hour of shooting before heading to the Viking settlement. I took the time to rest on an obligingly comfortable juniper bush on a hillside. Tangy wafts swirled in the wind. It was a great opportunity to catch up on some blog writing [as you know I’m still catching up]. Was it here we saw a small iceberg roll over not once, but thrice on the water? I can’t remember.

L’Ans Aux Meadows didn’t go over well with everyone, I’m afraid. Some people went through the buildings quickly, continuing on to do the hike that skirted the cliff side around the visitor center and back into the parking lot.

I however strayed to the beach where I found some rib bones from something or other. With these I made interesting designs. After the bones I found dried seaweed, straw, shells, etc. Before you knew it the montages were becoming more elaborate and larger, larger that what my 50 could handle. Dorothy kindly offered her Nikon with a 20mm, but when Rob came along, I didn’t take any time asking for his 20. Wow! Look at all that space around the subject! In retrospect, I enjoyed designing them than seeing the results of the image.

The Daily Catch. Everyone of us, but one or two ordered Fish and Brewis. The waitress came out to say there was only enough for one serving! OMG! Yes, I was a little loud in my exclamation, but can you blame me? Regardless, we ordered the last plate of Fish and Brewis, dividing it up for everyone to have a taste. No toutons. All drinks were served with chipped icebergs.

After supper, Rob, John, Dorothy, Pierre and I went to a previously scouted place for sunset. It was a peat bog pocked marked with pools of water, pimpled with rocky hills covered with moss. The trick to navigating a peat bog is to stay clear of the peat pools, finding firm footing within stubble growth of tall grass, juniper and whatever else. Trying not to sink too far onto marshy ground with a large, full camera bad and tripod was not an easy feat.

I’ve never thought of using the 4×5 for sunset until now. I went further afield than everyone else because I wanted to make damn sure the landscape and therefore the composition was what I wanted it to be. I’m not sure if I am entirely happy with it after all. Only the photograph will tell.

Leave a Reply

