June 16, 2015

We left at 8am to hike the tablelands. I can’t image a more beautiful hike [Insert David Bowie’s, “Life on Mars”, here]. None of the Bruce Trail hikes I’ve done so far tops this. It’s the type of trail one should come back again and again to experience all the changing variations the landscape can transform into. I can see how on different days the red of the earth would glow in the sun, sunset colours of fiery red ocher. I’d love to watch the climbing of the last of the sun’s rays as they get blocked by the hill. There’s even an all day hike you could do thought the ridge and down the hill.
From route 430, coming into the park you can see snow nestled in some of the ridges. That’s not to say we didn’t see snow on other mountains.

The tablelands seem like an extraterrestrial piece of earth. – Not extraterrestrial, rather prehistoric. We walked on the earths mantle a half billion years old! It was a perfect example of the final stages of Pangaea’s separation. The redness of the Tablelands is from a rock called Peridotite, which is high in Iron. Wiki says it “has toxic amount of heavy metals.” This however, did not stop some of us collecting a little piece of Tablelands to bring back.

Not halfway along the trail we veered off the path to a fair size waterfall surrounded on one side by snow. It was beaconing to us. There was no way we were going to pass it by. The girl at the Visitors center was right though. Things appear further away then they seem. I was able to test my new high-top rubber boots from Boggs. they have a foam elastic top which fit around my fat calves. I think hip waders would have been more appropriate for some of the places I wanted to get to. I’ve been wearing them more than my regular hiking sneakers.

Things one must do in June when there is snow……
1) Snow angel,
2) Throw a snowball at Rob and Pierre.

After the hike, some were not keen on going to my next port of call. As it turned out, everyone loved our stop at Trout River. Yet another quaint fishing village of its very own quaintness. It boasted a rare Newfoundland Pony in one the back yards. A line of brightly coloured fishing sheds, a beautiful black sandy beach with dramatic cliffs at the end and clothes lines of bright toques, mitts, socks and dish clothes. I chose the end of the beach close to the cliff to set up one of my 4×5 shots. I’m not hopeful of it turning out though. The shutter release remote stuck and I panicked, using the shutter release on the camera. Wish me luck.

No one wanted to eat at the reputed Seaside Restaurant, for supper having had lunch earlier in Woody Harbour at The Old loft. So we went home and went to bed early.

I would dearly love to spend a few days in Trout River.

Clash of the Toutons – www. Downhome.com – The Old Loft Restauran, Woody Point – Really buttery not in a good way. Doughy inside, crispy on the top. Overload with molasses. – **

Leave a Reply

