Day iii – June 12th, 2015

Allan asked us, “So what did you do on the ferry?” Cocking my head to one side, I replied, “Walked around. Discovered there was a sun deck on the top. Walked around some more. “Yeah, you killed 10 minutes.” “We had lunch. Played a card game. Napped.” We did all those things including checking out the gift store. Oh Yeah, we watched North Sydney and the rest of Cape Breton slip pas us as we entered the Gulf of St. Lawrence. There were 8 boats out fishing that day. Or perhaps there were out to hail the Blue Puttees off on her voyage, which is not an unusual pastime for one to do if you have a boat.

While were waiting to board, we were waiting for my cousin and her two girls to meet us at the terminal. Before I left, You might remember, or did I mention it, I had printed out two images for her and my uncle each. But before she got there the announcement came on for everyone to return to our cars. I could have met her in the end. We were in line for at least another 15 minutes. Oh well. I won’t have time to see her when I get home, nor at Christmas. Next summer I suppose.

Three quarters of the way we were meat by a bank of fog. Port Aux Basque was shrouded. SO picturesque. But that was nothing compared to when we left corner Brook. More of that later.

We drove through to Stephenville where we spent the night. All the hills were capped in grey clouds. There were may comments of how John Snow was going to come out in the gloom, his black shape, sward brandished to kill a dragon or something. Though the hills were quite lush blanketed in new Spring green. Hardly a place for John Snow to come out of nowhere. Joanne, I thought of you, our trip to Tobermorey with all the spring greens we saw there. You would have delighted in this. When the clouds lifted somewhat, you could see snow still on the mountains (hills). On our way to Stephenville, we, I missed the first exit because of fog, rain and construction. It was almost a blessing because we passed several marches that tool positively eerie in the fog. I vowed to go back this way on our way out because of one particular spot. It looked like tidal pools among the lush greens of marsh life instead of rock. Behind these small pools were the hills rose steeply into low lying clouds. So we did go back, I wanted to use my 4×5. OH! I realized on the flight from Toronto, I forgot to pack the rest of my 4×5 film. I came with 6 backs locked and loaded. 12, now 11 exposures, one for each day.

Leave a Reply

