Math Refresher or Math Represser?

 

Up until a few days ago, I had a two year plan. This was to take the Tour Operator Management Certificate at George Brown. Before I entered the certificate, I realized, I must take a refresher math class in order to take Hospitality Math.  I admit I signed up for Math 1080 with negativity and doubt, having no faith in my mathematical abilities. I went to the first two classes the first week. I broke into tears on Sunday night when only a quarter of my homework was completed. Please know  I didn’t slack off in anyway.

Now here I am wondering what do next. It’s quite possible to take some classes from the certificate without singing up for it. In fact, I emailed to ask and wait for a response. Out of all the subjects in the public school curriculum, Math was my weak point and obvious still is. I hated to admit defeat so soon in withdrawing from my class, but I believe there are other avenues available to me. Thus, it’s up to me to find them.  There are YMCA programs for people who want to start their own business. EI even has programs that involve your own personal mentor. But here’s the catch, you have to be unemployed. Then there are piecemeal classes one could take part-time here and there to gain the experience you need. The Tour Operator Management course is not exactly what I want, but you can’t tailor a certificate, though that’s exactly what I want to do.

If my day tours are going to centralize in Cape Breton, there are things I’m going to need to know about the history, the economy, the environment, folklore, music and industry. Cape Breton University, formally University College of Cape Breton has a program called Heritage Studies. I’ve wanted to take this certificate for a very long time. Thankfully there isn’t a math class that’s required. The hitch would be biology to study indigenous plants and animals. This requires a prerequisite. I’ll cross that bridge when I come to it.

Being a dunce at math is a disability for many of us. Yet somehow we get by using the basics every single day. The point is to keep on trucking and do the best you can do. As I’ve said in my last post, I’ve developed new organizational skills for my outing. The same is true for any math that will come my way.

PS:

Don’t think I’m going to be posting something every day. I had inspiration today, that’s all.

PSS:

Just heard from George Brown.  Man, they’re good!

“Hi Sarah,

You are more than welcome to just take individual classes. Please see link below:http://coned.georgebrown.ca/owa_prod/cewskcrss.P_ProgStream?area_code=PA0043&stream_code=PS0492

If you decided you want to work towards a certificate you must complete all the classes that fall under that certificate. You must take the prerequisites required for classes.

I hope this helps.

Felisha”

It sure does! Thanks Felisha!

Leave a Reply

